Hello Holodeck Pilot

My curiosity got the best of me this week. I purchased an XBox and a Kinect. I was leery at first there were many comments about lag early on, so I held off. Then many articles were posted about what people were doing with the technology. I became interested. Then I read consumer comments, they were favorable overall. I tend to be an early adopter, I know this is basically a paying beta tester. I just feel like I should invest in technology  that I think is going in the right direction. I enjoy having fun with it and it is more fun than investing in start-up. I owned one of the first hybrid cars, I’m an iPad owner, and I owned a Sharp Zaurus back in the day.

Anyway, I have felt like we were moving toward the Demolition Man version of the future for a while. I will spend 1/2 an hour happily jogging submersed in virtual environment via Wii and 50-inch Plasma. No tripping over sidewalks, stopping for cars, dogs, or sun burns. I have a dedicated room with exercise mat flooring to reduce knee strain and a roomba to keep the floor clean for yoga and the like.

I imagined a far more interactive environment of the future emerging in my lifetime. Now I own the Holodeck Pilot. I am now looking forward to a dog training program and sending my avatar to work. Oh and Google I want that self driving car. I must have something to hold me over until teleporters are available. I hope I have the restraint to not be an early adopter of the teleporter. I know credible good reviews and affordability will be the only thing to hold me back.

Until then I have the Holodeck reserved for the afternoon.

The Editor

Leave a Reply

